LATEST NEWS:

We have a nice mixture of two-year-olds this year ....

Staff Profiles


FRANKLAND LODGE


BARRY DENVIR

02_Barry

JOB:  Assistant Trainer.

FAVOURITE HORSE:  Bracken Brae. She is a nice, big, strong type for a three-year-old. She has a promising hurdling career ahead of her.

BEST RACING MOMENT:  Riding my first winner on my first ride. 

BACKGROUND:  From County Down, Northern Ireland then moved to England.

PREVIOUS WORK EXPERIENCE:  I worked for  three years with John Gallagher who gave me my first ride and winner. I then moved to a pointing yard, then to Australia before becoming a freelance point to point jockey back in England, working for various yards including Martin Keighley and Tim Vaughan.


 IBEN TURNER

Iben_Turner

JOB: Travelling Head Lass                                                                                          

FAVOURITE HORSE: Lost The Moon because she is a nice big horse with just the right amount of attitude. I have also got a soft spot for Astroshadow                                      

BEST RACING MOMENT: Not falling in a heap after riding my first race.

BACKGROUND: I started riding at a very young age. Started out show jumping and ended up riding racehorses at 15 / 16 by default. I have, up until a few years ago, always kept a few horses of my own for show jumping and had a really nice broodmare which I got a lovely filly from by a silver disc show jumper.

PREVIOUS WORK EXPERIENCE:  I started out working in racing at 15 / 16 and held an amateurs licence back in Denmark before coming to Newmarket in October 1999 for a three month working holiday. 


           NIALL KENNEDY

11_Niall

JOB: Work Rider / Stalls Handler                                                                                          

FAVOURITE HORSE: Star Commander, because he is a grand old horse with plenty of character. Also, with riding him daily it's nice to be a part of nursing him back ready for his return, so he could go and potentially fulfil the promise he showed previously.                                          

BEST RACING MOMENT: Working on the stalls during big days, it's a real buzz being involved with such electrifying atmosphere and having the chance to handle top horses.

BACKGROUND: I grew up in the north in a large town call Darlington. From there I moved to Epsom for a spell before ending up here in Newmarket.

PREVIOUS WORK EXPERIENCE:  I started at Alan Swinbank’s at weekends and school holidays at the age of 11 when I didn’t even know how to put on a head collar, but after plenty of boots to the derriere and clips round the ear, I learnt a lot and progressed to riding out. From Mr Swinbank’s I moved to Michael Attwater where I spent the summer experiencing the buzz at the home of the Derby before moving to Newmarket. I spent a winter with Lauren Braithwaite riding the pointers, which was a good chance after I had ridden in point to points previously.  I moved to Chris Wall at Induna Stables where I worked up to a role of responsibility, before leaving to work on the stalls and riding out freelance for various trainers before moving to Frankland Lodge. I also work at the sales, stud work handling stallions and transport work. 


JESS DALY

Joss

JOB:  Exercise Rider.

FAVOURITE HORSE:  Blue Bounty because he is so sweet and cheeky and Regal Galaxy because she is a lovely ride.

BEST RACING MOMENT:  I haven't had one as yet.

BACKGROUND:  My parents met whilst working for Sir Michael Stoute, since then my father has trained himself for a number of years, now pre-training for Godolphin and my mother stable lass/amateur turned racing secretary. Racing has always been a big part of family life.

PREVIOUS WORK EXPERIENCE:  I am 15 and this is my first job in racing, however, I have been riding from a young age, helping my dad in his yard and riding at a local riding school most weekends. 


MUHAMMAD AHMED

246_Ahmed

JOB:  Yard Man.

FAVOURITE HORSE:  Desert River because he is strong and fast.

BEST RACING MOMENT: Looking after and riding Traffic Guard, and I had £500 e/w on him at 33-1 when he won.

BACKGROUND:  I am from Pakistan where all my family were with horses. My dad won the Pakistan Derby as did my grandfather. My brother is a trainer there too.

PREVIOUS WORK EXPERIENCE: I have previously worked for John Gosden.


GABOR DUDAS

28_Gabor

JOB:  Yard Man.

FAVOURITE HORSE:  Budgie because he is sweet and has a playful character.

BEST RACING MOMENT: Leading up at a racecourse and feeling proud to see my horse running and winning.

BACKGROUND:  I was born in Hungary and came over to England in 2013 and began working with racehorses here in Newmarket.

PREVIOUS WORK EXPERIENCE: I have worked in various yards including Clive Brittain, Stuart Williams, Ed Walker and James Tate before coming to join the team at Frankland Lodge.


TEGAN PORTER

30_Tegan

JOB:  Yard Man.

FAVOURITE HORSE:  Topalova because she is sweet, gentle and loving.

BEST RACING MOMENT: I have only just started in racing and am looking forward to my first time racing.

BACKGROUND:  I have never worked with horses before but decided I needed a new direction in life and decided to give it a go. I am really enjoying it.

PREVIOUS WORK EXPERIENCE: I have come from the restaurant world working with Jamie Olivers mum and dad and now am embarking on a career in racing. 


TOMMY PRICE

01_Tommy


JOB:  Part-Time Yard Man

FAVOURITE HORSE:  Prayer Time. He keeps biting me but they are only little love bites.

BEST RACING MOMENT:  I think it has got to be the Group 3 in Milan when I was riding.

BACKGROUND:  I was born in London and started racing in 1967, I rode my first winner in 1971.

PREVIOUS WORK EXPERIENCE: Worked as an apprentice in Lambourn for Douglas Marks, I have also worked for Peter Harris along with many others and the last stable I was in was Michael Attwater before joining MHT.


REBECCA LOWE

03_Becky

JOB: Farrier                                                                                          

FAVOURITE HORSE: Singing Hinnie because she is beautiful and I would like to her as my showhunter.            

BEST RACING MOMENT: Plating a horse which was third in the Oaks

BACKGROUND: I was born in Birmingham. I studied for five years to become a farrier. I have worked for myself now for two years. I also own a horse that was trained by MHT, Astrobrava, who has twice taken me to HOYS

PREVIOUS WORK EXPERIENCE: I have the pleasure of working in some good yards and studs including MHT and Dullingham Park, Michael Bells, Gaye Kelleway, Cheveley Park and Newsells to name just a few.  


 DIANE  CARTER   

Diane_1
JOB: Racing secretary.
                                                                             
FAVOURITE HORSE: Astrocat

BACKGROUND: I was born in West Ilsley when Major Dick Hearn was at the helm. I am married with two daughters.  My husband Chris works for James Tate and my eldest daughter Michaela works for Andrew Balding.  Aliesha, the youngest, works at a pre-school.

PREVIOUS WORK EXPERIENCE: I worked for Peter Harris / Walter Swinburn for 15 years, initially as Partnership Secretary then for the last six years as Racing Secretary. When the  stable closed down I moved up to Newmarket and spent 16 months with Ismail Mohammed before joining the team at Exeter Ride.

                                                                         PHIL GREEN

Phil

JOB: Life member of the team.

FAVOURITE HORSE: Brushing.

BEST RACING MOMENT: There are two: Bob's Return winning the St. Leger in my first season at Flint Cottage and Staunch Friend's win at Punchestown - a day never to be forgotten, if only I could remember it after the party!

BACKGROUND: Born near Northampton and still support The Cobblers - after beloved Arsenal, of course. Class is everything. My family was much involved in horses. Father, grandfather and great grandfather were all farriers, my uncle was a feed merchant, my aunt was an illegal bookmaker (until she was 83) and my great aunt was a nun but she probably liked the odd bet if the convent's wine and honey had sold well.

PREVIOUS WORK EXPERIENCE: Journalism. To enhance my income while a junior reporter on Northampton's daily paper, I became a very occasional pop group 'minder' (including The Rolling Stones) and also a part-time betting office clerk. Later became Chief Sub-Editor and Editor of the Northampton Chronicle. Retired and then ran MHT's syndicates, was a minor jockeys' agent and freelance writer/editor before joining Mark in 1993. Retired again in 2007 but still couldn't escape, so now very old and only part-time.


IAN BECKETT

IAN

JOB: Accounts manager

FAVOURITE HORSE: Joe The Coat

BEST RACING MOMENT: The involvement with Ted Spread in the big races has been great. Also, before Lord Gyllene won the Grand National, I just 'knew' that he would win so backed him ante-post and on the day. 

BACKGROUND: I was born in Hackney and grew up in Waltham Abbey.

PREVIOUS WORK EXPERIENCE: Spent the first 10 years of my working life as a lifeguard in a sports centre, working my way up to being assistant manager. Then in the mid-1990's, I went to work for Campbells (Bookmakers) Ltd as a counterhand, later becoming the Operations Manager. Campbells were then bought out by Tote Sport. Joined MHT in December 2008.


RYAN DAVY

RYAN

JOB: Maintenance.

FAVOURITE HORSE: Ron was my favourite, as my grandad was called Ron and I named my 7th child after him.

BEST RACING MOMENT: As strange as it may seem, I am not really interested in horseracing and never have been but the best moment for me would have been when we won the jockey's weight in chocolate. My wife is a chocaholic and her eyes lit up when I arrived home with my share.

BACKGROUND: I was born in Newmarket and lived all my life in Exning until five years ago, when my wife, Heidi, and our children moved to Newmarket. We have eight children, Ashley (the yard's paper boy), Lauren, Charlie, Henry, Arthur, Rosie, Ronald and Ellen.

PREVIOUS WORK EXPERIENCE: I was a roofer for 12 years before coming to work here. 


DULLINGHAM PARK STUD

DAVID WOODLEY

DAVID

 JOB: Stud Groom.

FAVOURITE HORSE: Five Hearts and Astromagick.

BEST RACING MOMENT: Brushing winning the Galtres stakes. Also, the 2002 Racing Post Trophy, when Brian Boru finished first, Powerscourt finished second and Illustrator finished third, as I saw all three being born.

BACKGROUND: I was born and grew up near Wincanton in Somerset.

PREVIOUS WORK EXPERIENCE: I started helping out at Vilmoray Stud, when I should have been at school. Then I went on to work at Whitsbury Manor Stud, Meon Valley Stud, Juddmonte and Bearstone Stud before coming to Dullingham Park Stud in August 2007. 


MUHAMMED YAR

MO

 JOB: Stud hand.

FAVOURITE HORSE: Fantastic Light, as I groomed him at Godolphin.

BEST RACING MOMENT: Dubai Millennium winning the Dubai World Cup.

BACKGROUND: I was born and grew up in Pakistan in the Swat Valley.

PREVIOUS WORK EXPERIENCE: I worked in Dubai from 1988 until 1996 for Sheikh Mohammed with his camels, then I went to Godolphin until 2004. I joined Dullingham Park straight away in 2004. 


CAROL CLAY

CAROL_CLAY

JOB: Housekeeper.

FAVOURITE HORSE: Bob's Return.

BEST RACING MOMENT: Bob's Return winning the St. Leger.

BACKGROUND: I was born in Burwell and have been married for 35 years to Colin. I have two children, Jamie and Stacey and our gorgeous, lovely granddaughter, Evie, who is two on December 15th.  

PREVIOUS WORK EXPERIENCE: I spent 23 years working in restaurants and had many enjoyable times and some not so enjoyable! I still miss some of the lovely customers we had. I have now been working for Mark and Angie for 20 years.